Falling behind…

I already am feeling guilty about not posting yesterday.  I guess that’s a good thing?  Thank you, #MTBos30.  Now, I’m not at home, and still feeling the compunction to post something.  I read someone’s post about their student feedback, and was compelled to read feedback from one of my two classes (which has wrapped up because it’s full of seniors).  I read many positive things but one strongly negative one, and I can’t seem to stop thinking about it.

The comment mostly speaks to how little this particular person learned in my class.  The “stay positive” part of me is inclined to push it to the back of my mind and ignore it, and move on.  The realistic side of me is trying to own this feedback, understand what this student has said to me, and try to learn from it.  What do I need to do differently so that next year in May, I don’t get feedback like this?  I don’t know if I can make adjustments right now or even give myself to the time to fully consider the impact of the input.  My instinct right now says to set it aside, and mull it over in a few weeks, when my mind is more free, less stressed and ready to try to learn from the experience.  The main thing is to not set aside forever.  I think I can do that.  We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

