Day 24 – #MTBoS30

I’m definitely slowing down!  I missed a night of blogging as I powered through until way too late to finish grading my students’ projects.  I’m tired but glad that’s done!

One of the fascinating parts of grading this project was to read each student’s reflection on the process and their work.  One of the aspects of the project structure that they liked the most was the project log, which was one of my colleague’s ideas for another project.  We asked each group to create a shared Google doc, shared with me and with each of them, which was a series of empty cells in a table which looked like this:

Date Detail
5/2 Accomplished in class:
To do for homework:
Plan for work in class tomorrow:
Questions for your teacher:
5/3 Accomplished in class:
To do for homework:
Plan for work in class tomorrow:
Questions for your teacher:

The number of kids who praised this structure was amazing!  I heard it most often from kids who I think of as highly organized already.  They liked the opportunity to keep themselves focused and on track with the help of this scaffold.  The project period lasted for two weeks, and students reported (after the fact) that they had some busy nights with tests or papers due in other classes. This log allowed them to stay on track even when they had to not work as much on a given evening.  It made me realize that even a relatively small additional structure, which remains highly flexible, can still make an open-ended project run more smoothly.

Leave a Reply

